Why Today – FWF contribution

This is a contribution to Kellie’s Free Write Friday, which this Friday was focusing on the atrocity of human trafficking… Please read more at:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/01/11/fwf-free-write-friday-special-edition-with-jessica-kristie-human-trafficking/

jail cell

Given the rights that should be afforded all people
I find it distressing that there exists forms of slavery
I know that in the world in which we live we’re amidst
Others that have no respect for life, quite unsavory.

I’ve never been one to promote violence on others
It just isn’t in me to judge by what I might compel
But at times I hear or read of those so despicable
That it would be too humane to put them in a cell.

When anyone believes they can trade another’s freedom
Whether it be by violence, slavery or even through war
I believe that one day there will come a reckoning
And they will be judged and they will exist no more.

For now we can only put trust in laws that are weak
They are only as good as those that try to enforce
Help those that we know that are either victim or aide
And try to educate, assist and guide to a better course.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Today – FWF contribution

  1. I did not think you un-cordial at all, my friend. I just didn’t want you to miss out on writing because maybe you felt we were requesting something specific. Just wanted you to know the options. 🙂 Thank you for writing, Gray. I hope I didn’t come across pushy.
    Big hugs! xoxoxoox ♥

    • graypoet says:

      Not at all Kellie, at times I need the push as this is all new to me and at times I doubt my ability to give important topics the attention they deserve. You should know by now that I always respect your comments and advice and look forward to reading your work. Thanks, Charles

  2. Pingback: Free Write Friday #16: What does Freedom mean to you? « catnipoflife

Leave a comment