Golden Years

Temonos Circle

Temonos Circle



Each new month makes me realize how time passes
When I was younger it never seemed to be noticed
Maybe with the passage of the years I’m more aware
The light at the end of the tunnel is more focused.

The uncaring feeling of youth, seeming invulnerable
Going from sun up to sun down with a few hours sleep
Not really giving thought out past the end of the week
Love, money and destiny were mountains I could leap.

Then the years of working and cares of raising a family
Different goals become important and values change
It is not all about ones self that our life revolves around
A few choices made in the past might now seem strange.

Losing loved ones, changes in health and a slower pace
Oh how life has changed as I fall into the golden years
Trying to remain hopeful and maybe a companion seek
I spit at fate, trip destiny and shake my fist at my fears.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golden Years

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    this is so true to life; glad to see you are writing; have missed you; your words always speak volumes my dear friend; hugs and smiles and great day wishes___Phyllis

Leave a Reply

