Visually Impaired

I was recently told that men are visual
I guess I can accept that statement as fact
There have been times when I felt inclined
To let my gaze caress a woman, with respect.

So to say that a man can be visual is true
I appreciate all the various shapes to see
Such a range of bodies we’re surrounded by
I admit it’s a full-figured gal that interests me.

But there comes a time when things can change
The are still times when I have the desire to see
It’s been a while since I have had the pleasure
Without someone around, I’m content with me.

I realize women can be as visually curious as men
I have seen a couple over the years that shared
The connection was special and for that I am glad
But for now it’s just me, so I feel visually impaired.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Visually Impaired

  1. thefeatheredsleep says:

    Some women only like good looking men and some men marry or are with not attractive females, so anything said here, is very generalized, but basically in general terms men are visual, they are ‘attracted’ to something beautiful and attractive visually whilst most women go for something else (intelligence, humor, goodness, strength). There are a million reasons this could be, it almost doesn’t matter, it just is. The downside is as women age and are perhaps less visually appealing a man may wander, either mentally or actually. A woman is less likely to cheat for this reason, there may be other reasons she does, like not being loved, or treated well. So that is the typical disparity between the genders. It is regrettable because I think a man can miss out on a great woman who may not physically be beautiful but is in other ways. I was physically beautiful but I wanted a person who would like my soul and when I was with men I felt they were more in love with how I looked than my soul. That doesn’t mean they are totally facile they’re not, but they have less ability to love based on other traits than physical traits. I have met women like this also. I myself have dated both beautiful and ‘ugly’ people and the person I loved most was not the most beautiful. For me, a person has so many qualities it would be a shame to consider one over all the others. That said, I knew a blind man who had a gorgeous gf and never knew she was! Ah the irony.

    • graypoet says:

      beautiful response, thank you. Maybe it is becoming wise as we age, but I find the same thing. I want a woman that has a beautiful heart and soul that will be there to share life with, that is the beauty that will make any relationship last. I’m still hopeful to find it again…

      • thefeatheredsleep says:

        I agree. I have seen as men get older they tend to begin to see this and whilst they still need some physical attraction it changes. Then again this is not true of everyone, for we all know those men who go after someone young enough to be their granddaughter, and that is their perogative as the girl surely is using them as much as they are reliving their youth? I’m no expert but I’d say having someone akin to you usually means of a comparable age but that’s not always the case. I try to be less judging of things like that, as I have gotten a little older, I see that how I was at say, 18, angry with boys who only went for perfection and got caught up in beauty, was really an insecurity as well on my part, because I now feel more content with myself than then. It made me think a lot (your writing) thank you!

  2. Kathleen says:

    Beautiful poem and I love the comments by thefeatheredsleep. Hey Graypoet…at 60 years old now and pretty much showing every one of my years, I’m content with me as well! Big hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

