I Don’t Want To Grow Up


Have you told yourself “I don’t want to grow up”
Let feelings and thoughts of others go neglected
I realize that becoming a responsible adult sucks
Too many big choices, too much is to be expected.

As a teenager I thought I had the world by the tail
Hopes and dreams changed as fast as the weather
The biggest challenges I faced seem so trivial now
Funny how we find some things won’t last forever.

Coming of age and becoming an adult takes time
Not everyone finds that wisdom at a certain age
As the years progress, I can look back and laugh
If my life was like a book, I’d just turn the page.

Now I’m supposed to be older, wiser and grown
I find there is much that still doesn’t make sense
As I try to understand choices some people make
I wonder if I should be in a cave or behind a fence.

I try to give most people the benefit of the doubt
To think that what they say is what they really do
Trust is something that we build, it goes both ways
When it is broken, it is hard not to get a bitter view.

Anyway, I find that my mind is active with thoughts
What makes some people act the way that they do
It just give me a headache, so I’d rather not grow up
If it means that I be responsible and make choices too.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Don’t Want To Grow Up

  1. Aakansha says:

    At the age of 20 I’m expected to be an adult now. Whereas I barely even know what I’m doing with my life.
    I could relate to each and every word.
    Wonderfully executed!

  2. samdapoet says:

    Brilliance is the word to describe this👌

  3. Kathleen says:

    I’m 60 and I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up! In the meantime, I’m loving each and every minute of each and every day!!!

Leave a Reply

