Do You Know Me

Always enjoyed this song and there are times when I wonder if anyone really knows who I am. The words make me think, and besides, always wonder what inspired their name….. Simply Red.

If you don’t know me by now
With words that I’ve shared
Do you have a glimpse inside
Is it possible that I cared.

We’ve all got our funny moods
I’m thankful I’m not a clone
But if no one can understand me
I might just remain all alone.

The words we say are different
Not everyone can see eye to eye
But when it is just too hard
It is best that we just say bye.

Lyrics express what many feel
I know I relate to too many songs
But my mind is filled with a curse
Each must find where he belongs.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do You Know Me

  1. Dana Renee says:

    This song always makes me introspective … and always makes me feel a bit lost because I know that many will never know me.

  2. Talk about throwbacks that still hold much value!

    • graypoet says:

      I hope it gave you a smile… thank you for taking time to comment.

      • It did. I contemplated the different points of growth (rises and falls) within a relationship. When it gets real and serious, if it wasn’t to begin with. How well do we know the different sides of our significant others’ that make up the whole of who they are? What are our expectations, and how well do they match up to our current reality? How open and invested am I in this relationship? These are important questions

  3. Yoshiko says:

    We need to have a place to belong.

Leave a Reply

