Christmas Trilogy

I originally posted these in 2012, but had them on my mind.  I thought I would share again, happy holidays to all my friends…

 

Week Before Christmas Trilogy Part 1 – Homeless
Posted on December 7, 2012 by graypoet

Twas a week before Christmas
I was snuggled down in my box
The rats were still active
I kept close my can of rocks.

I still wonder about my family
It’s hard not to think of the past
I hold on to the dignity I have left
I pray this cold weather does not last.

I’m still able to look for a job
It’s not just the life of charity for me
But as more and more are finding out
Today companies have very little loyalty.

I can’t blame those led by greed
I’ll keep looking for a better solution
There will be food and friends around
As I volunteer to help down at the mission.

Week Before Christmas Trilogy Part 2 – Soldier
Posted on December 7, 2012 by graypoet

Twas a week before Christmas
My family is home safe in bed
I wish that I was there with them
But I’m in this foxhole instead.

I do the job that I’ve been assigned
Not a life full of glamour or wealth
More one of steel, Kevlar and camo
Where we survive more due to stealth.

If the things that I do help others
To sleep more securely each night
Then I’ve done my job and I’m content
To keep my own fears out of sight.

With all that we have to be thankful
There can be no little amount of fear
But I pray I help keep my family safe
This Christmas I will spend right here.

Week Before Christmas Trilogy Part 3 – The Child
Posted on December 7, 2012 by graypoet

Twas a week before Christmas
I’m getting excited to see
All the present being piled
Some are addressed to me.

I know that we don’t have much
And my parents show us they care
We don’t need expensive things
Better just knowing they’re there.

New toys and clothes are exciting
But having family around is better
We do have our moments like others
I’ll still take that over a sweater.

If I could ask for something special
Over anything that I have right here
It would be to feel all this giving
More than just one time every year.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

