Can’t We Learn?

What makes us continue to try to love
When we have seen how much it can hurt
Are we simply gluttons for punishment
Can we avoid again feeling like dirt.

So many happy couples out there exist
This I see and yet it seems so strange
I can only attribute failure to myself
Is it my expectations needing change.

Maybe at some point we are just too old
Perhaps too unwilling to change our view
We question morals and distractions seen
Others just don’t see things as we do.

Not to say that all these others are wrong
That sharing isn’t what we really expect
And if it isn’t something that we can ignore
We leave this path, rather than lose respect.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t We Learn?

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    so very true my friend; thought I had found the love of my life but Tim broke up with me says I have too many guy friends; said I am rude when we tried to discuss it; oh well, single and lonely again. LOL LOL We are not too old my friend. I know I am set in my ways. LOL Take care and keep up the wonderful work. Smiles and hugs Phyllis

Leave a Reply

