The Cabin

cabin

Smoke lifting gently from the chimney
Curtains visible through the windows
Dusted, arranged and silently waiting
Memories abound, yet no one shows.

The bed that was shared by two lovers
Learning of each other so intimately
Over the years they grew even closer
With only one left, his closed eyes see.

Though children and their children go
They don’t see the loss in the same way
Enjoying the beauty that is all around
Little notice what he can no longer say.

Still young enough for more memories
He has little desire a new path to strike
Hints are given, love can still be found
Yet little motivation to start a new hike.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Cabin

  1. Aakansha says:

    You are my new favorite poet. Beautiful.

    • graypoet says:

      Awwww, I’m humbled by your words. I just write what falls to the page, most coming from my life in some way. Thank you for taking the time to comment and I hope you find more gems to enjoy in my posts.

      • Aakansha says:

        I literally live for poetry and always harbor a fascination and admiration for poets, myself being one (not as good as you of course). Poets are absolutely wonderful and magical people with the most magical and brilliant of minds.

        And I enjoy reading each of your works.

        Keep going my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

