What Makes Us React

mcds

Sitting in the drive-thru line this morning
Waiting for my turn to merge into the queue
When a young lady cut me off to go in first
And my reaction was wasn’t I here before you?

What makes us react to the actions around us
Isn’t there an unwritten rule to take a turn
Would she stop if I tried to force the issue
Is something of her heritage I should learn.

Common courtesy was lost with common sense
We’ve become a society of ‘me first’ today
Maybe I’m just getting older and see clear
I find I shake my head with little to say.

So I took that stance the she was just young
That she was so self-absorbed she couldn’t see
Now as I write, I pause to look back and smile
Maybe she and I both just needed morning coffee.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Makes Us React

  1. redgladiola says:

    Beautiful view! It happened and it’s over. Why dwell on anger and ruin the rest of your day? Thanks for your compassion. =)

  2. Lesley says:

    Some people are just in too much of a hurry… Hope your enjoying your morning coffee. An the rest of your day goes well.. 🙂

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    it’s an instant gratification world today….
    instead of reacting you responded in kindness…she will think of that soon and pass it along…
    Take Care….You Matter….
    )0(
    maryrose

  4. I am back to taking the bus after driving most of my adult life. Growing up we learned to take our fare out before the bus arrives. Then we step aside to let people off. I got totally annoyed when people climb on the bus and the people getting off have to push their way off. Then those who climbed on now have to dig in their pocketbooks or pockets to find the working metrocard (bus pass). I no longer get annoyed I just shake my head and say they just don’t know bus etiquette. So I agree common courtesy is lose with common sense.

Leave a Reply

