Sand of Life

sand in hand

“Like sand through the hourglass
So are the days of our lives”
Maybe they were just words read for a show
Added days, something each of us strives.

Too often it seems our life is like sand
Slipping as through fingers all too fast
Do we make the most of the time we possess
Do we live each day as if it were our last.

footprint in sand

Do you feel you have left an impression
Have you left footprints in another’s sand
Will your legacy be one of which to be proud
Or will the wave remove any trace it found.

Hopefully our life does more than slip away
True it is what each of us make of our day
I’ll hope that impressions I’ve left behind
Are ones those I’ve touched feel should stay.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sand of Life

  1. Just Patty says:

    Beautifully written.
    Lots of love

  2. Wonderful I love this, beautifully written from the heart šŸ™‚

  3. smilecalm says:

    wonderful aspiration
    to have a beautiful continuation šŸ™‚

  4. Yoshiko says:

    I won’t know when my life makes an impression. I think as a mother and friend

    >

  5. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    immortality comes from whispers on the wind
    written in the sand, or written by pen
    each holds an energy of thoughts to keep
    some leave impressions ever more deep
    who would have thought a small crystal inside
    the computers would connect so many with a simple hi
    extending hands within friendship that reaches far and wide
    yes, words are the footprints we shall leave behind from this journey’s mystery
    the winds of change will seal them in the whispers of immortality

    I like your words here….you always make me smile even in the sad ones for they are delivered with such care, and thought….
    Thank you for being You and sharing with me/us here and there,( I will catch up the ones in the “there” in a bit…my son-in-laws Grandmother passed away and her Rosary was last night….)
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • graypoet says:

      Glad to know that I can make others smile. I’m sorry for your loss and my thoughts are with the family.

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        Thank you…I appreciate those words very much….
        its been a long year of people passing….I think there will be more,
        their souls seem to know the changes are not for them,
        Long morning..its finally getting light outside, I hope it rains
        to wash all the haze of thoughts away…
        Again Thank you…..
        Take care…You Matter… šŸ™‚ (one for you)
        )0(
        maryrose

        • graypoet says:

          While sitting with my thoughts, waiting for the sun to rise, I too ask the questions and release some sighs…

          • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

            I know *sighs* well
            )0(

          • graypoet says:

            Guess that is about the size of it…. lol. Smile, you were given another day of life to make a difference. And you do. šŸ™‚

          • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

            I went to feed the zoo…I love watching the geese spread their wings and sort of low flying coast over to me, it is so cool to watch LOLs..
            so many deer this morning…

            and as You Make a Difference too! (Thank you)
            )0(

Leave a Reply

