Faraway Thoughts

Is it that we are more thoughtful
As we grow older and days remember
Or can it be we think of mortality
Of ones past, present, maybe future.

It isn’t that I dream away my days
I’ve had so many good years of life
I still have family around to enjoy
Even with the loss of a loving wife.

Maybe that kept me from reaching out
To take hold of the hand you offered
It wasn’t that I took it all lightly
Maybe time and circumstance deterred.

That doesn’t mean my mind doesn’t see
Images that between lovers are shared
Helping the lonely hours tick slowly by
I can only hope you know that I cared.

A beautiful smile, soft skin and caress
Moments never too far from my thought
Too many take no note of things said
I cherished shared moments we sought.

The songstress plays with such emotion
A heart that carries such melodious word
I can only hope you know that I remember
That my heart echos the feeling I heard.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Faraway Thoughts

  1. Beautiful lines of the give and take between the heart and the mind.

  2. Lesley says:

    Beautiful….. Glad your back!! I Enjoy your words.. 🙂

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    weaving memories into this moment to let your heart speak out loud again
    or maybe sing its own song…
    your first lines speak volumes….I think I am seeing we are living in eternity, its not “go to” its here and each soul we meet is part of that eternity….
    I have been in many memories lately and I have no regrets….I have learned to be cautious, but if something feels right then i step and take a chance…these days I don’t listen to the energy of chance…betrayal is a hard one for me to come back from, though I have no doubt I will someday….

    you’re heart is speaking…you should write more of its song, it reaches far you know ….
    I enjoyed your words today….Thank you for sharing, they will make me remember a time of not so long ago…when I let go of a dream
    Take Care…you Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  4. Colline says:

    Beautiful and yet heart wrenching.

Leave a Reply

