M. I. A.

To many MIA gives thoughts of soldiers
Missing In Action, their fate unknown
But there is a more common explanation
Making It Alone, by strength it’s shown.

Almost everyone desires someone special
That match that makes us feel so complete
And too often accept a poor substitute
While still hoping for that one to meet.

Maybe you cross paths with someone and pause
Could this be more than just another friend
But they are married or have someone close
So you step back, letting this hope end.

What could have been might never take hold
Maybe it is fate or just karma of some kind
If they had been single, it might have been
Rather than intrude, they slip from the mind.

I’ve seen my share of those that let desires
Intrude into the arrangement two others share
For selfish reasons to get only what they want
Divisions created, ruined lives without a care.

So maybe just a personal choice to for now
To remain M.I.A. and walk this path alone
Special are all the friends that I have found
And I hope the hand to hold will be known.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to M. I. A.

  1. Lesley says:

    another beautiful master piece!! 🙂

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    Oh my Charles I love it; are you ok; I miss you my friend; This is certainly a great poem and speaks volumes. I guess that makes two of us MIA. Hugs

  3. Kirsten says:

    I really liked this one. I’ve made the M.I.A choice for this season in my life too. It is definitely better than the alternative – as you so eloquently pointed out.

Leave a Reply

