Cross Your Fingers

cross your fingers

I think back on childhood rhymes
Cross my heart and hope to die
Do we really do that these days
Or just get the needle in the eye.

We cross our fingers for good luck
But how can that be a pleasant thing
So many things we can’t do any more
And it make it hard to wear a ring.

You won’t be able to type very well
Is it these two fingers or those
You can’t button a shirt or your pants
And heaven forbid you pick your nose.

I guess it is just a symbolic thought
And maybe it just leaves one with a smile
For typing this with my fingers crossed
Has taken me more than a little while.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cross Your Fingers

  1. Easter Ellen says:

    Oh my goodness! If laughter is the best medicine, then you have given me a ton of good meds. Still bed-ridden after my lengthy hospital stay, you have brightened my day and made me laugh so very much.
    Thanks GP 🙂

  2. Kirsten says:

    The last two lines made me laugh. Thank you for this poem!

  3. graypoet says:

    🙂 Thank you…glad you stopped by…

  4. Just Patty says:

    Great poem! Made me smile! 🙂
    Lots of love

Leave a Reply

