That Summer

OK, so another Friday prompt from Kellie Elmore and her Free Write Friday post. This is from a quote, so I’ll adapt it a bit since I’m not a girl and see where it falls… Thanks Kellie. For my readers, I hope you will follow the link to Kellie’s page as there are always some great contributions:
http://kellieelmore.com/2014/05/09/fwf-free-write-friday-quote-prompt-5/

story

bandit

Seventeen and not many cares in the world
A great family, comfortable but getting by
So years spent working to help out with bills
Never a thought of hesitation or to ask why.

Maybe up to then there wasn’t time for girls
Dates sure, but nothing that was serious yet
And then summer rolled around and she appeared
Shy yet captivating, a smile I couldn’t forget.

I noticed her and yet I was too shy to step up
Imagine my surprise to hear with her I had a date
She had bragged to her friend that we would go out
So I had to ask her myself, before it was too late.

I got her number from a friend of hers that I knew
When I called, it was busy, two friends plotting
When I got her to answer, seems we were both ready
So the date was set, only thing left was the waiting.

I could say it was fate or maybe the stars aligned
It was a date that lasted through almost thirty years
I won’t recount the tragic night of a drunk driver
But there were years of smiles, remembered with tears.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to That Summer

  1. Lesley says:

    Beautiful!!!! 🙂

  2. Oh my! How much of this true? Youthful joy and life’s sorrows beautifully rendered.

  3. Kelly says:

    Simple life, youthful strong love, and tragic loss.

  4. Beautiful and yet also very sad!

  5. charlypriest says:

    Gotta love Kellie´s Friday Prompts.
    This story was great, I don´t know if it poetry, literature, a mixture of both for me quite unique how you wrote it, great story telling that´s for sure. And the story…. sad but in a way sadly beautiful.

  6. graypoet says:

    Thank you all for taking the time toread and for the comments. Some have asked so I will concede, I didn’t plan the ending but they are true words. When you get asked out my a special lady, fall in love, you marry her. The loss was nearly devastating. Most of my posts are based in my experiences.

  7. Kirsten says:

    This was poignant. I’m sorry for your loss, but glad that you shared many years if smiles. You did a wonderful job with the prompt!

  8. Just Patty says:

    Beautifully tragic.
    I am sorry for your loss.
    Love & Hugz

Leave a Reply

