Ponder this… FWF Prompt

Another Free Write Friday prompt from Kellie Elmore that caused my mind to flutter, so I let the words fall to the page. Be sure to check out her page for her words and all the others that share:

http://kellieelmore.com/2014/03/14/fwf-free-write-friday-ponder-this-3/

It seems that as I add more years of life
I find that I reflect more on days gone bye
Maybe it is that I feel my own mortality
As I look back I don’t have to reason why.

So many things that we are taught to do
That make no sense at that moment in time
From options I was given growing up as a child
To restrictions I thought bordered on a crime.

Parents that loved me, of that I am very sure
Offering explanations for the freedom given
Allowing me to make my own mistakes to learn
Keeping many of their own challenges hidden.

We had the necessary things from day-to-day
Food, clothes, shelter and a close family bond
I learned to work to buy the things I would desire
And they helped me to always look just beyond.

So many things that I can see much clearer now
How I wish I had just a few more of those years
They weren’t around for as long as I could wish
But I look back on life with smiles and not tears.

If I could pass on what values and desires I have
With those of my legacy as they now try to grow
I can hope they listen and learn what they can
As I teach them to listen from the love that I show.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ponder this… FWF Prompt

  1. valarie russell says:

    Beautiful Charles!You always make my day,I always enjoy reading your work.

  2. Wonderful as always. The essence of what matters in life.

  3. “If I knew then, what I know now …” the universal lament of the middle-aged. The best we can hope is that what we’ve learned will wear off on the younger generation before they make the same mistakes. Well written, thought provoking poem. Thanks for sharing …

Leave a Reply

