I Saw It In A Frosted Window Pane – FWF prompt

Thanks to Kellie for another Free Write Friday to prompt my brain…  Be sure to check her page as there will be some great writers to add to the reading:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/12/20/fwf-free-write-friday-pick-a-title-2/

bandit

 

It had been such a year of change
Loss of employment being the worst
With the children trying their best
It was hard, putting needed food first.

Of course without the family and friends
They might not even have the this place
For being a single parent was not the plan
But you bear it all and put on a proud face.

You had no idea the depth of your strength
But there were those that knew of your fate
And the secret was spread and all pitched in
To put more than a dinner onto your plate.

I watched through that frosted window to see
I cried as well as I saw your eyes begin to tear
Children with mouths open at a room full of gifts
The cold wasn’t felt as I shared all your cheer.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Saw It In A Frosted Window Pane – FWF prompt

  1. I know how difficult it is to be a single parent. I have done it myself, for a long time, until I met my wonderful husband. The struggles are very real and Christmas seemed to add to the pressure.

    I hope this Christmas is filled with many blessings for you and your family.

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    your words make me think of a coat of many colors….
    I love Dolly Parton’s song…for I was always the one with hand me downs,
    never the “cool” kid because I was an Army brat that was never in one place to long…
    and never the money to have the “in” clothes, but as I look back, I loved my hand me downs, for I learned to sew myself,I learned what imagination can do for me… I learned that the little things matter…as hard as your year has been, you have the little pieces sewn together that make you a coat of many colors….because each piece has been stitched with love….with no strings attached
    Your words are more special as you weave your life story within them….to wear them for us to see
    Take Care….You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  3. Pingback: Free Write Friday #35: Pick a Title | catnipoflife

Leave a Reply

