The Envelope – FWF Prompt

This post was prompted by Kellie’s Free Write Friday prompt and I hope you will visit her blog to see some great writers. She can be found at:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/12/13/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-13/

free-write-friday-kellie-elmoreenvelope-typewriter-words-favim-com-404175_large

You have chosen to open this envelope
You see that I left it purposely behind
I hope all the words that you now read
Give you a glimpse into my frame of mind.

The day that we met was one very special
Pain the turned into such a blessing too
For two hearts truly became three that day
As your Mother and I were introduced to you.

I’ve watched you grow from that crying bundle
Into a woman to with children of your own
With unexpected losses we’ve shared already
You’ve taken up a path without being shown.

There are so many things that I already said
Undoubtedly still things I should have done
But I know you’ve never lacked from my feelings
From joyous to helpless, from depressing to fun.

Now my legacy shall move on from this time
I’ve shared whatever wisdom I might have had
Your children given values to honor the name
Now the rest is up to you, All my love, Dad.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Envelope – FWF Prompt

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Simply beautiful as all your writingsa are. Hugs Dear friend

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    so many thoughts within your words
    painted on a canvas to seen over and over again…
    Beautiful thoughts to a child….
    Take care….You Matter….
    )0(
    maryrose

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you Mary, I look forward to seeing if things leave you with a thought. You are a good sounding board…

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        they already have….I have been writing all morning (since 4(ish)am
        yours brought up a few….more thoughts spinning into words
        just one of those days when whispers fall with the raindrops and the music plays on….

        )0(

  3. Simply sweet. You always write straight from the heart.:)

  4. Lesley says:

    Beautiful Piece… πŸ™‚ I loved it!!

  5. Made me think of my son. He is nearing his final year in high school and already talking about flying the coop. 😦 It is so depressing thinking of him not here anymore.
    Thank you for joining us this week!

  6. catnipoflife says:

    Very touching with such a beautiful message! This one came right from the heart πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Free Write Friday #34: Image Prompt | catnipoflife

  8. seanbidd says:

    Like the sense of letter to moments about your approach in the above. Letters, and poetry are not too dissimilar, I think. Possibilities for exchange.

Leave a Reply

