Winter Blues

credit: drweevil.org

credit: drweevil.org

There are some that like the cold
I don’t, but then I’m getting old
Winter is upon us as we can see
Bah Humbug, what it means to me.

Seeing my breath, having cold fingers
Hoping each day the sun just lingers
Some dream of fireplaces and snow
Why they enjoy it, I’ll never know.

I won’t say I never enjoy the snow
It looks okay from behind a window
When I don’t have to go out and play
Taking off work for a crazy snow day.

We’re told not to wish our life away
But through each Winter I find I say
Call me crazy for what it might be worth
Can’t remember why I live this far North.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Blues

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Beautiful poem as always dear; you know I am partial to fall and winter; both are conducive to firelaces and cuddling although I have no one but the chihuhuas to cuddle with They atill are my favorites. Hugs always

  2. Just thinking the same thing! Although right now I am bundled up to go for a walk with a friend under the crescent moon.. This season leaves me feeling conflicted-sort of a love-hate relationship!

  3. Lovely poem about winter, personally I love winter, it is better than sweaty Indian summers. Pleaseread my poem on winter on my blog, Rain-Chimes, http://drsmitasriwas280.wordpress.com/2013/12/19/winter-is-an-unraveled-secret-poetry/

Leave a Reply

