Being Different

photo (14)

I was driving this weekend
Just a quiet day to think
When one tree stood out
Color causing my eye to blink.

Among all the trees yet green
This one stood tall and proud
It’s leaves shouting out to me
Almost declaring itself aloud.

A sentinel guarding the yard
Straight it stands a midst all
Soon that coat will fall away
Yielding again to winter’s call.

But an example to all that see
While it shines, leaves not spent
You don’t have to be like everyone else
Stand tall, even if you are different.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Being Different

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Very very true and I am an example of different even if no one else notices I know that I am; as are you my dear friend. Hugs

  2. asmita says:

    At the end all it matters is being yourself. If you start morphing yourself to fit into others likes, one day you’ll lose yourself. That’s a lesson which I have learnt in life too.

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    We’re all individuals in a herd. Some prefer the anonymity of the herd. But, it’s our individualism that makes the herd so vibrant.

    “Stand tall, even if you are different” – sage advice, I reckon.

    Peace,
    Eric

  4. vixenincognola says:

    Your words nearly become lyrics as I read them and that pic… I love!

    I saw “fall” for the first time ever when I went to Pittsburgh… This southern gal was amazed by the colors of the landscape 🙂

  5. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    your thoughts are speaking for the tree I do believe….
    it is beautiful!
    and I like the thoughts you penned….very much…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you for the smile Mary, to know someone saw something and took the time to comment always brings smiles.

      • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

        your words seem to smile…sometimes happy and sometimes sad…but it whispers within a vibration
        that is very special….and one cannot help but be drawn within your smile….
        )0(

        • graypoet says:

          pretend poets have been known to blush too….

          Thank you, you are special too

          • LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

            LOLs is there a difference between pretend poets and real ones? I think everyone is one if they speak through experiences of their life…
            you are no pretend one you know…I may be now for I am never sure where my thoughts come from LOLs..so am I just the voice of what I hear or see? ahhh see….we are all on a journey..Poets keep better records of those moments I think..
            and Thank you….that was very kind of you to say that…
            )0(

Leave a Reply

