How Do You Count Your Tears

Credit: picable.com

Credit: picable.com

Tears are a fact of life that we all share
Giving way to tears can express so much
Maybe it comes from heartache and pain
At times it is the result of a special touch.

What of the tears streaming from an infant
Listening to a child cry seems no big deal
True some have no compassion or empathy
It wrenches our heart if we normally feel.

As we go through life we shed so many tears
Emotions show us that we are alive and care
From sadness and pain to the joys of heart
We shed our tears, most move on from there.

There are those tears that we cannot count
Like the realization of losing a special friend
Whether to death, distrust or mutual choice
Those tears are the ones that just don’t end.

A verse once asked how we count our tears
Do we collect them in a special bag or a jar
True a tear is only the result of an emotion
But how we react makes us who we are.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Do You Count Your Tears

  1. Shaniqua B. says:

    Really beautiful words

  2. I believe friend this is a re-blog; may I on your behalf?

  3. Reblogged this on Busy Mind Thinking and commented:
    This was such an interesting title, I had to re-blog! Enjoy

  4. Al says:

    This is beautiful (Came from Busy Mind Thinking) And more than one part refers to me

  5. Each line spoke to me and brought up some memory and yes, emotion. Lovely poem!

  6. Ray says:

    Tears show so many emotions. I love your post. So well written.

    This past year has seen more tears for me than I thought was humanly possible.

    I remember reading some where that “Tears are the words your heart can’t say…”

    So very true. I lost count a long time ago.

  7. valarie russell says:

    This is truly beautiful and is right on point.If tears are words the heart can’t say…..then my tears speak volumns.thank you my friend.

  8. lovely, I’ve enjoyed your words

Leave a Reply

