Twilight Embrace

Ever have a thought that started as one thing and seemed to have a mind of its own? Is it a story or a poem? I’m not sure, but it is all fiction…

She stood before me that cold dark night
Soaking wet, glistening eyes full of fright
I opened the door and asked her to come in
Not knowing the journey that would begin.

Torrents of rain had been blowing for an hour
Most people around under a blanket did cower
She had taken a wrong turn on roads unknown
And found the house where my light had shone.

Her eyes were trying to hold back the tears
I wondered how to comfort and allay her fears
I offered a blanket and a cup of hot cocoa
There was more going on as I would soon know.

She had been driving to try to clear her head
Creating more questions than answers instead
No longer with her mate after so many years
This admission brought forth the flow of tears.

It seems he had strayed, as was a common event
She had no clue through the years they spent
The betrayal was one that crushed her heart
So into the night she looked for a new life to start.

As the hours passed I could but lend an ear
So many dreams crushed, no other friends near
How she came to my door, was it fate or just chance
I listened with compassion, meeting her every glance.

There seemed more exchanged than just the word
How could she know if felt more than I heard
For the story was one that I’d seen with another friend
And I was pretty sure how this story would end.

The hour was late and yet the storm was still heard
As a new friend, I offered her a room as sleep stirred
No agenda was felt and no desire but to assist
She surprised with an embrace and we gently kissed.

Not wanting to let a moment of kindness go astray
I offered the room and again showed her the way
As the door closed and I heard her give way to grief
I closed my own door and leaned against it with relief.

She had no way of knowing as I had welcomed her in
That of my late wife, she could have passed as a twin
What the future for either would be after this night
Was something, at present, was not even in sight.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Fiction, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twilight Embrace

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    WOW WOW WOW Charles you outdid yourself with this one; What graphic scenes you captured perfectly. What an emotional romantic encounter perfectly captured. You missed a major calling years ago with your wonderful writings. Hugs

  2. AMAZING! Loved the twist at the end as well as the vividness of the setting and emotions!

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I agree with the WOW WOW….WOW!!!
    this seems to have come from your heart…for where else could such an encounter
    come from…..
    Beautiful…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    00(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

