Lost In Thought

sunset2

Sitting quietly lost in my thoughts
I wander around on memory lane
With all the images flowing past
I question whether I am still sane.

I stop on a quiet late autumn night
The foliage is alive with reds and gold
The air is crisp as the sun sets amber
Sharing a cocoa as hands we hold.

Your head on my shoulder I remember
The aroma of your perfumed sweater
The wicker creaks as we shift position
Trying to get a bit closer together.

Oh how the mind can bring us alive
Taking us back to days gone by
Such vivid memories take us away
I still remember, letting a gentle sigh.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Lost In Thought

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    A beautiful poem my friend; it provides lots of thought provoking memories as you inteded I’m sure. Take care. Hugs and smiles

  2. That is nicely written. Loved reading it!

  3. graypoet says:

    My My…. I looked back and forgot to link to Kellie’s Free Write Friday blog where you can find the rest of her amazing contributors….

    http://kellieelmore.com/2013/09/06/fwf-free-write-friday-fall-word-bank/

  4. neenslewy says:

    Beautiful poem filled with memories and great descriptions.

  5. Pingback: Free Write Friday #29: Fall Word Bank | catnipoflife

  6. Suzanne says:

    I think you are definitely still sane. Such a lovely depiction of memory and the vagaries of age. Love it. πŸ™‚

  7. jadedmess says:

    So cozy πŸ™‚ Nicely written!

  8. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    wonderful as always…
    I always enjoy your words you share…
    words that seem to spell a smile no matter how many letters or lines…
    Take care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  9. Talicha J. says:

    Lovely work you have here! I really liked your poem πŸ™‚

  10. You take me back to places I miss so much. A time long gone, but still so close to my heart. This warmed me with nostalgia. Thank you.

  11. dawnhosking says:

    Beautiful πŸ˜‰

  12. valarie russell says:

    This is very beautiful and takes me back to many fond memories.Well done my friend!

Leave a Reply

