Hanging On To Life

Thoughtful by emejota

Thoughtful by emejota

Have you ever pondered the question
Why a terminal patient hangs on so long
Is it ingrained in us to cling so hard to life
Is our wanting suffering to end so wrong.

We hear it said so often at these dear times
That they will be going to a better place
So why do they hold so tight to each breath
When giving up would start this new race.

Could it be that as it was in the beginning
Man being placed on this sphere of dirt
That we desire to work and enjoy our time
Even with all this stress, frustration and hurt.

I don’t question my faith or the things I know
I think of desire each one has to try to stay
I believe we are meant to live under better conditions
To reach that day with loved ones, I still pray.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hanging On To Life

  1. tjtherien says:

    really enjoyed this poem…

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I left this life for a short time…
    I came back because I heard my daughter say she needed me…though my angel told me I was not to turn back, my free will was still there….and I turned around
    and it was the right choice for me at that moment
    I think the one passing feels the needs of the ones they are connected to…
    it is a fine silver thread, so strong death can not break it, it has to be let go by all the ones
    that are left here…it has to be free of will that lets it go…its hard when there is so much love here, no one wants to let that go…in such grief there is no way to know they are still here, just in a different form of connection…
    I don’t think people realize how their energy affects connections we have with the ones in our circle….

    a wonderful poem…questions of substance that seem to create more questions…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    How very true – heartwrenching and beautiful. Does make one wonder!!!!! Hugs

Leave a Reply

