When it rains

They say when it rains it pours, I guess I’m feeling like the local area. With all the local rain, we have been under flood warnings and just issued continued through next Thursday.

I haven’t posted much or responded to inquiries, just overwhelmed I guess. Restructuring at work, new office spaces, too many projects, vacations and sicknesses in department to cover…. I’ve been trying to help friends dealing with hospice and this morning more sad news. Last night my second oldest granddaughter went for a night out with ‘her people’ as her older sister put it. They had all been drinking excessively and the driver lost control, hitting several things before finally stopping. Still not clear how many were in the car since at least the driver and second male in the front ran off. Not sure who took granddaughter to hospital… So far I know she made it through surgery and is stable. Injuries: severed arm, amputated just above elbow, fracture in same arm with have surgery later to pin and plate, neck in a brace, swollen and not determined if any injury.

Driver found and incarcerated… Waiting for more news.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When it rains

  1. Yoshiko says:

    Hope she recovers soon. My condolence to the driver’s family 😦

  2. shalynne says:

    I’m so sorry for the cloud you’ve been under. My prayers to you and your granddaughter.

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    my thoughts and prayers go out on the wind to you and your family….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    Blessings
    maryrose

  4. I’m sorry and wishing her a speedy recovery…

  5. Oh my goodness! I am sorry to hear of your troubles.

  6. Ms. Roberts says:

    OMG, that’s why I never get into a car when someone else has been drinking! I am so sorry to hear that. I hope she’s going to be OK.

  7. night owl says:

    Oh Charles, I am so sorry. I will pray for you and your granddaughter and all your family.
    Kim

  8. Brenda says:

    Oh this is so sad, but thank god she lived. I hope she pulls through and recovers to be able to resume her life. She can never be the same carefree girl she was before, and that is a terrible grief. Tragedies strike for no reason, and we have to pick up the pieces. My heart and prayers go out to you and your family.

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you for your comment… Hopefully this will be a wake-up call. Lots of challenges ahead and I am hopeful.

      • Brenda says:

        Sometimes we need some challenges to teach us to make good decisions, because the bad ones can have very high costs. That’s a hard way to learn so young, though. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that some good comes from this for your family’s sake!

Leave a Reply

