Golden Years

As long as I can remember growing up
I heard people speak of the Golden Years
Now that I consider myself more mature
I’ve seen so many end their years in tears.

I cannot believe a loving God meant for us
To spend our days dealing with such pain
I believe his plan was years ago led astray
And we’ll again have a better life to gain.

For now we live in an age full of uncertainty
Given to violence, sickness, frustration, greed
While this gets worse with each passing day
There are those that still the scriptures heed.

Many don’t care to be reminded of these things
But there is no denying that we need some relief
The eventuality that most deal with at this time
Is watching loved ones pass away, feeling grief.

So the Golden Years have come into my view
The gold hair seems to have turned a bit gray
Vital energies seem to have diminished a bit
Aches and pains seem to be present each day.

We used to dream “what if we could go back”
But I’m content with my life even as days pass
I accept where I might have made my mistakes
“Here’s to the Golden Years”, raise your glass.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Golden Years

  1. Beautiful post. With so many of my friends passing away at young ages, I feel it’s a privilege these days to live long enough to be considered old. Huge hugs

  2. Colline says:

    This is a beautiful poem and I love the graceful acceptance of entering those golden years.

Leave a Reply

