Rumblings

What thoughts do you ponder
As you try to sit so quiet
Ignoring that inner rumble
As you try sticking to a diet.

What is your favorite food
Do you like a little spice
Chicken, beef, lamb or tofu
How about red beans and rice.

It is not easy to ignore
Thoughts of foods that call
Almost smelling the aroma
Maybe a portion, very small.

The attempt was valiant at best
Yet I close as I rise to my feet
Tomorrow will be a better day
I’m off for something to eat.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rumblings

  1. Sounds like a plan. Believe I’ll do that too.

  2. Terry says:

    I like plain old home cooked food unless it is pizza. I have been on a diet since the day I could open my own mouth to feed myself, lol

  3. gailthornton says:

    I love the build up to the humor in this poem, it’s witty and fun!

  4. Colline says:

    Sounds like me when I am trying to cut down on what I eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

