I Try To Pause

walking

In the time in which we live
We have reason to be thankful
Medicine and technology improve
Yet we are often times forgetful.

When younger did we just not notice
Or is progress killing us more quickly
Cancer, obesity and many other ills
I’m as unhealthy as others admittedly.

The desire to make changes is there
But the pace of life pushes it aside
Until finally there is no way to ignore
I can’t bury my head and pretend to hide.

No longer can I ignore what I know
Can’t blame it on the Devil or Santa Claus
I am in charge of my life and health
So every once in a while, I try to pause.

Diet doesn’t have to be just a four letter word
Exercise doesn’t require I train for a marathon
I don’t have to forego every pleasure in life
Maybe it’s as simple as putting walking shoes on.

Take the time to cherish the health that you have
I know some who are caught in some illness’ jaws
Don’t wait and then wish that you had done more
Do it now while you can, I think as I try to pause.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Try To Pause

  1. We do need to pause and take stock, and live more healthier lifes.

    Thoughtful, inspiring words….

  2. night owl says:

    Now, Gray, I read this right after picking up Popeye’s for dinner. I feel a wee bit abashed. πŸ™‚
    I’ll go take a walk later to make up for it.
    Owl

  3. gailthornton says:

    This is a great poem, giving tribute to a healthy lifestyle. I have some health issues, but maintain a healthy diet, which has been so important to my overall happiness. This poem is very well thought out and written, thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

