Thankful

I saw a post from a blogger I follow that focused on being Thankful… It was a nice thought to contemplate, so I pass it along.

With all the stresses and pressures of life
Are we meant to struggle just to live today
What reason do we have to be Thankful
Let me wonder out loud a moment if I may.

If you are reading this, you are blessed with sight
Many don’t have this sense, but they cope
Maybe you have need of glasses to see clearly
So you can be Thankful for this blessing I hope.

If you sit back and wonder what words I use
You have a mind and can reason to a degree
Accidents and disease have robbed others
Be Thankful and enjoy word pictures with me.

If you have challenges with movement or health
You know the patience and endurance we need
But many have passed, succumbing to the pain
Thankful we are for life, wherever it may lead.

It is easy to take for granted things we might have
Like those we read or even those following our word
I’m Thankful to have some that let me ramble, yet remain
Allowing me to express and feel that my words are heard.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thankful

  1. Terry says:

    that is so real, loved it!

  2. Oh my friend, what a beautiful, inspiring entry. You are a blessing.

  3. Lovely! Even lovelier when you see the good in life, perhaps this will be the trend for today?

  4. Lesley says:

    Beautiful poem!! I have so much to be thankful for…. Thank you for this beautiful piece!
    Hugs 😉

  5. C.J. Black says:

    We bloggers are Thankful that the Gray Poet shares his thoughts.

  6. If we can adopt a more grateful state of mind, we are less apt to feel weakened by some of life’s struggles. Gratefulness is a source of strength.

Leave a Reply

