Weren’t We

This is a submission to a prompt from a fellow blogger with a photo and prompt of: KICKED OUT, DISCARDED. ONCE LOVED THOUGH. Just the thoughts that rolled from my head, please go check out her blog at:
http://drieskewrites.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/6wsc-wanderer/

backtoback

There was a time when we laughed
But now you’ve kicked me to the curb

You know what you did that was wrong
Now you must honor that “Do not disturb”.

But how could I know that you react so
And not see how mistakes can be made

You expected me to understand betrayal
And not think that I’d just been played?

I guess I wasn’t sure of what we might have
And too late I found that I was played the fool

With all that we shared between us back then
It is hard not to think you were just being cruel.

Life is so hard with all that we have around
Never knowing who is real and what to believe

I too know that, thus we are where we are now
But how do I know that you won’t still deceive.

And what else can I do to show how I changed
All that I know is how I feel right now, today

We both know what we were and what we had
I don’t know if there is anything left that we can say.

I know that there is a lot of trust I might win back
So much said, we know what we were, weren’t we

So many things in this world are throw away now
All I can say, or yet do, is to say Try and we’ll see.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weren’t We

  1. Never give up hope, Graypoet, it is what keeps our heart and soul warm.

  2. graypoet says:

    OK, so I misread which prompt was which, but I wrote about one of them…. hehe. After I master writing, I’ll take a class on following directions.. If I ever get there….

  3. Lesley says:

    If its worth fighting for its worth having…

Leave a Reply

