Looking Back

back

How easy it is at times to look back
Wondering how we arrived at this place
Reliving each of the moments in time
Bringing a smile or a tear to our face.

Each of those moments combined as one
The sum of who we’ve become in this day
Do we continue to keep them alive now
Do we put them in the past, walking away.

Never gone, they are what we learn from
But they don’t have to control our course
Mistakes and bad choices are a fact of life
Don’t let the past make today be any worse.

Yes it is easy to look behind and remember
But that makes it harder to stay moving ahead
So put the past behind and learn from it
Always looking for a better ‘You’ instead.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Looking Back

  1. Heather says:

    Above and beyond what I expected. I feel this often especially right now at this time of my life. Its like the calm before the storm; before the crazy. I am taking the time to think things over. Like, is where I want to be?

  2. tina5458 says:

    Beautifully said!

  3. Lesley says:

    Beautiful!!!

  4. The past and its pain have made me stronger. I am a better person because of it. Thank you, thank you for words well said as always.

  5. Phyllis Sears says:

    Another beautifully written work of art coming straight from your heart; hopefully we all learn from mistakes made but those mistakes are what molds us into what we have become. Thank you always for sharing my very dear friend Hugs

  6. invisibleme says:

    This reminds me to not lead a “rearview mirror” life. Wonderful. Thank you.

  7. thanks for this beautiful writing; and the picture. I’ve been thinking like such lately.

  8. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    and once again I get to see my thoughts in writing as well
    you put it in a way that unjumbles the chaos that is usually in my mind…
    Thank you for just being you…
    )0(

Leave a Reply

