Remember When

It is Friday again, time for another Free Write Friday prompt from Kellie… Please visit her blog to see all the talented submissions..

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/06/07/fwf-free-write-friday-time-place-scenario-5/

kennedy

Some have asked if one can remember
Where were you when things changed
When a world stopped for a moment
Because someone showed out deranged.

Remember when the only topic covered
When there was only a single thought
How could something like this happen
Remember that a president has been shot.

So much has changed since that day
Looking at a black and white tv screen
Who would have thought life so valueless
So much now on those screens to be seen.

Some aspects of life are better now
But innocence itself is rarely found
Back when time stopped and tears fell
Because a shell casing fell to the ground.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Remember When

  1. Terry says:

    very good Gray!

  2. xxkultuur says:

    Oh those moments when we realize life will never be the same…and it won’t…you captured that feeling perfectly. Touching.

  3. I was a toddler during that time but I recall the stories my parents told of that fateful day. My mother kept all the newspapers and magazines from that time in the linen closet. I don’t she got rid of them until they moved out of the house in 2006.

  4. Strong, vivid imagery, good use of the prompt. As always a thought provoking poem.

  5. Definitely a time and place that changed the world.

  6. Mark says:

    Great writing and imagery!

  7. neenslewy says:

    I guess it’s not so surprising – given the black and white part of the prompt, I used JFK’s assassination in my FWF too. A well written poem.

    But innocence itself is rarely found
    Back when time stopped and tears fell
    Because a shell casing fell to the ground.

  8. graypoet says:

    I am always thankful for those that leave comments as it encourages and lets me feel when my words have made some kind of impression.

  9. Wonderful poem throughout but the ending stanza leaves a lasting impression. A very strong image! Well written.

  10. Suzanne says:

    That was very powerful. My mind went to old black and white footage of presidents being shot too when I read the prompt. Your poem really captures the feeling of those times.

  11. So true how images on TV and elsewhere are so different now. Your writing captures the feeling of a fast changing world.

  12. Very nicely done poem on this tragic time in history. I remember exactly where I was when I was told the president had been shot. I can still see it in my mind.
    Here’s my late entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2013/06/08/daydream-believer/

  13. You gave me goosebumps. Nice work. I think I can go out on a ledge and say that this is my favorite of yours to date. Wonderful piece. Thank you.

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you for your wonderful words. You know my word bending is just my personal therapy, so when my words can elicit such a comment, I am humbled.

  14. Gray — I went back to that day in an instant…glued to the B&W set for days afterward…there was no school only shock and a broken nation. You captured that beautifully with your poem. Your poetry never disappoints me. Left reading your post to nearly last because I savor your words like a fine wine and wanted something special to read this afternoon. Thank you for your poems!

  15. Ms. Roberts says:

    Holy crap, I am astounded. I love the rhyme.

  16. Teresa T says:

    A sad moment in time brought back in poem form. It surely made me remember where I was and how I felt for I wasn`t that old. I remember that my only thought was that I was mad my cartoons were not on the tv. Thank you for such a poignant glance back in time. Wonderful work.

Leave a Reply

