Better Days?

country store

I think of the times in which we live
All the conveniences we have in our day
And maybe I get too thoughtful of things
Remembering how we did things the old way.

How many can say they took fresh cream
Shaken in a jar to race to make fresh butter
Children laughing at each other without fear
No thoughts of hitting or injuring each other.

Times when families had a set schedule to eat
Sitting around a table together with friends
Sharing thoughts of the day or discussing issues
Not demanding new electronics or contact lens.

Driving across country to see family or friend
No worry that we don’t have GPS or each a cell
We didn’t have to stay online through each mile
It wasn’t something to tweat to the world as well.

It wasn’t a time when everything needed a plug
We weren’t too busy to take entertainment outside
Simple pleasures of life with a blanket and ball
Playing catch or everyone having a bike to ride.

Today we are so busy with all the things we have
Always busy working, connected, on the Go Go Go
We make more and spend more and worry about things
But take a moment, what do we really have to show.

Broken or distant families are the standard today
Too many things, we need a computer to keep track
Maybe just that occasional thought of better days
I know it’s too late, there is no way to go back.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Better Days?

  1. Lesley says:

    What a beautiful piece, Your right Some are stuck in the go go go… I was raise with a time to eat and be together, an I do the same with my kids.. Thank you for the thoughtful piece. 🙂

  2. Teresa T says:

    Oh Charles I love this writing. Very thought provoking of days gone by. Oh how I wish for the simpler times with family and friends. I do however need the cell because of business, but miss the gathering around the table to catch up with each other. I really appreciate this piece.

  3. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    what a wonderful piece of writing…
    you have captured the essence of living in a world that cares what is served at the dinner table
    not just in food for nourishment, but food for thought and spirit….and exercising the soul as well as the body…
    I raised my kids with dinner together, Sunday Brunch was a must and was never ignored we enjoyed the day of being together..no phones allowed…
    I finally got a cell phone when my sister and I went a funeral in West Texas…her truck’s alternator went out and there was no phone booth to be found….I still go days and places without one…funny how quiet it is
    Great read Sir Gray Poet…I enjoyed very much
    Take Care
    )0(
    ladyblue

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you for your words, as always they are appreciated. I’m glad to know they brought memories, not just of past days. There are days it is easier to get lost in ‘how it was’, but we are also a collection of our past. Hugs

  4. night owl says:

    This a lovely poem, Gray. There are many things to be missed about how things ‘used to be’ but I caution anyone who gets too wrapped up in nostalgia.
    My mom was a child of the 50s. Child abuse, alcoholism and domestic abuse were rampant in her small town. People knew what was going on and kept their mouths shut because it ‘wasn’t their business’. Single mothers – widowed or abandoned by their spouses – had a hell of a time getting by with most careers that paid well closed to them.
    I don’t know about your small town, but in mine I was teased, bullied, even punched in the stomach by a classmate. I was smart and ‘different’. Other children were not kind to me. I wouldn’t go back to those times for all the Sunday dinners in the world (where the grownups gassed out us children with their chain smoking).

    Yes, parts of my past were wonderful. But I don’t paint all of the past with those memories.

    I am sorry to vent on you. Just one of those pessimistic days. You know I think you’re wonderful. (((hugs)))

    • graypoet says:

      I know exactly of what you speak and I agree.. There were things that don’t need to be repeated today. Both my parents were chain smokers and a couple of my sisters carried on the tradition for a while, sadly parents and one sister are gone, victims of cancer. But for me, the memories I choose are beneficial, not much pain in my past before I went out on my own to face life.

      • night owl says:

        You are smarter than me 🙂

        There are so many things I loved about my childhood. In many ways, it was idyllic. I am just getting grumpy in my old age.

        We had a small playground in the apartment complex where I grew up. Parents didn’t worry about child abductions then and we spent hours of our days in that playground, no adults, no liability insurance, no worries. The day we broke the see-saw in half by piling 3 teenagers on each side was hysterical and silly and no one cared. (well, maybe the apartment managers did.) So, yeah, I long for the days when we weren’t scared to let our children out to play. Sure, the monsters were there – we just didn’t know about them.

  5. Phyllis Sears says:

    A wonderfully written writing about our past memories; I have to say like you Gray my childhood was the best; It was only after being on my own that things went downhill; but then there are still some good times that I wouldn’t trade for all the gold anywhere – like my son and daughter in law, good friends like you and other memories that warm my heart when the day seeems rough. Thank you for sharing your feelings of nostalgia and for always writing from your heart. Hugs always

  6. Thank you for a thoughtful piece. I do not read it as nostalgia as much as a reflection on our “disconnected” life we have today. I wrote a piece called “Unplugged” back in October of 2012 similar in theme to your poem. Here is the link if you care to read it: http://buildingalifeofhope.com/2012/10/09/unplugged/

  7. vixenincognola says:

    Love this 🙂
    Thank you! It is easy to get wrapped up in the go go, gotta stay connected world. I’m so guilty of it myself, work emails and such. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

