A Rose

20130522-190107.jpg

Thoughts rush through my mind
As I stare intently at the rose
Such quiet beauty contained
With thorns waiting so close.

Clipping the bud to hold it
Careful of the delicate shape
Knowing that once picked
It’s life begins to escape.

Slowly I peel back petals
Their scent fills my nose
Laying them out flat to dry
A smile starts and grows.

I place an array of color
Arranged on your pillow
Hopeful when I find you
My love will also show.

20130522-193047.jpg

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Rose

  1. night owl says:

    That is a really sweet and beautiful poem. Great imagery. I like your cute new Gravatar icon, also.

  2. That is one of the best poems i have read (so beautiful) 🙂 thank you for sharing

  3. Lesley says:

    Beautiful poem 😉

  4. Phyllis Sears says:

    This one is so romantic and very beautiful; I could actually smell the roses.

  5. Pingback: The Power Of Smell: Making Scents Work for You! | rohan7things

  6. jeglatter says:

    My favorite topic. Beautiful!:)
    -Jennifer

  7. Heather says:

    This is so wonderful! I can see you peeling the petals back and giving it to your Loverly. I love this poem!!!!

  8. G says:

    Roses are calling to me, in so many ways!!

Leave a Reply

