Humbling Words

When one writes from the heart
Letting words flow from a start
What expectation might there be
That others will feel what I see.

When those write words of praise
It humbles me in different ways
To wonder if I said too much
What nerve did I reach to touch.

I ramble and let words just fall
At times only a lonely soul’s call
Nothing that others don’t face
Just seems overwhelming in my case.

But I don’t let it last too long
Change it as a Lady Antebellum song
Thankful for the readers I do have
Words and references like a salve.

For my followers and visitors that leave words, share references in their own blogs or that reblog, a heartfelt Thank You.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Humbling Words

  1. Terry says:

    you always have a way with words. they reach me every time

  2. shalynne says:

    Words are like a salve, aren’t they? Well said. 🙂

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    Many of us are alone; your words relieve, touch and help us to deal with our wounds. You have such a soothing way with words. You bring out the humbleness in most of us. T^hank you for sharing and caring. Hugs

  4. Your words are like salve. Have you ever thought of writing them as lyrics? If it doesn’t go into a book, who knows, it might work in a song.

  5. Your poem goes to the heart of the reason that I write. Thank you.

  6. graypoet says:

    Reblogged this on Gray Poet and commented:

    Humbling Words. I post this again, for I find at times that the words shared by those that take a moment to read give me strength. I appreciate my followers and those that care enough to leave their thoughts.

  7. You are so easy to care for and supportive of others, you my friend, are the gift. Hugs. Belinda

  8. Your words quench the thirst of many a soul. And, I, in turn appreciate your caring thoughts as well.

  9. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    a smile from the heart is so contagious…
    your thoughts are felt as well as read….that is a gift ….
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladyblue

  10. Ms. Roberts says:

    Salve or blade. Your words haunt me.

    • graypoet says:

      I hope that is never a bad thing…. I know when I read some posts, it is almost as if they were reading my thoughts or directing just what I needed…

      • Ms. Roberts says:

        Your poems are wonderful, they speak volumes to me. I like how you rhyme them but they still make sense. That is very skillful writing.

Leave a Reply

