Strength

What gives us the strength to stop
To turn aside from a path we’ve taken
Then we find it leads us a wrong way
And losses leave our heart aching.

What gives us the strength to admit
That while we never meant to offend
We’ve lost someone who touched deep
What will our continuing right depend.

What gives us the strength to stand tall
After we’ve fallen to our knees in tear
Letting the cries burst from our heart
Seeing that all alone we can stand here.

What gives us the strength not to look back
Seeing the path ahead and walking it alone
Take one step at a time and believe in yourself
For it might be that your truth will be shone.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Strength

  1. I have lived this! So well written!

    Thank you!

  2. valarie russell says:

    This is one of your best my dear.You certainly know how to capture those floating words and write them in away that makes us see your insight.its beautiful.

  3. I can identify with so many lines! Strength we do get from falling to our knees, though it is hard to see at the time. Bravo!

  4. I just came across your blog and this is the first post that I have read and I am in love with it. I’ve had so much strength to get through some of the things that have happened in the past two years, yet I always find I need the reassurance and motivation to keep it up. This poem was what I needed, thank you!

  5. i stop when the light is red
    i climb a ladder to stand taller
    i use river view mirrow to look back
    and i admit i like this one 🙂

  6. Kira says:

    Pure perfection…

  7. Easter Ellen says:

    This is the first time I have visited your site and I absolutely love the raw emotion, reflection and humility in this. Wonderfully written.

  8. Phyllis Sears says:

    Easter Ellen his words to offer so much about life; everything he writes touches someone I believe; I have missed many of your newer posts because of issues in my own life; This one certainly is very heartfelt for me. Hugs and many thanks dear friend for always giving me hope and inspiration to move forward

Leave a Reply

