Open Wide – FWF prompt for In Your Shoes

OK, so it is Friday once again and there is a new prompt from Kellie, or is it River or maybe Ziibi… I’m not confused, glad Kellie is getting some time to promote her new book. Anyway, just thought I would add my post to the prompt, maybe in a different fashion…

Check out the other posts at:
http://kellieelmore.com/2013/03/29/fwf-free-write-friday-in-your-shoes-with-guest-host-river-urke/

foot in mouth

Maybe if I bought new shoes
It might improve how they taste
For my foot goes in my mouth
When I let things out in haste.

Not that I try to inflict pain
But I’m not immune to the past
Of opening up my mouth at times
And my words spill out too fast.

Always easier to look back and see
Things to be done or said instead
But instead best intentions fly away
Words come out before we engage our head.

So I wash my feet more often
Clean socks and now a new shoe
Hoping that when it happens again
My own foot tastes better too.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Open Wide – FWF prompt for In Your Shoes

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Don’t we all have this problem; at least I know we are all human so this can happen; I love the poem. You are much too hard on yourself at times. Keep on writing for you are so good at it. Hugs my dear friend

  2. Bennett says:

    I can so relate! Love it.

  3. Gray … love the picture and your poem captures my life so easily … hoof in mouth disease!!!

  4. Joanna says:

    Oh that was great! Got me smiling from the word go! Well done and what a lovely take!

  5. I had a smile on my face throughout the read – well done!

  6. terry1954 says:

    that was very clever how you brought that lesson into the story. I really liked it!

  7. That was funny, you did well.

Leave a Reply

