Keepsakes – FWF prompt

Well, the week is coming to a close and, like an announcement of the weekend, Kellie has given another Free Write Friday prompt: Keepsakes. So, here goes.. Be sure to check out Kellie’s page and be sure to commend her for her latest book coming out: Jagged Little Pieces.

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/03/22/fwf-free-write-friday-keepsakes/

Feeling the need to remember
I open the jewelry box again
To linger over the keepsakes
Of days that have already been.

On top is the purple ribbon
Yes, Sis’s pancreatic cancer
Followed closely, a brown ribbon
Sis-in-law lost to colon cancer.

A smile and maybe the hint of a tear
My mother’s ring of each child’s stone
There in the ring are 5 colored gems
Four shining brightly around one gone.

There is my fathers cuff links
Humble and worn with few times
A part of my collection of keepsakes
Reminders as a distant bell chimes.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Keepsakes – FWF prompt

  1. Beautiful, Charles. I have my grandma’s jewelry box and I keep her hair pick inside a zip lock bag. I open it once in a while so I can smell her. It smells just like her too, after all this time.

    Thank you for a wonderful piece. ♥

    • graypoet says:

      I am thankful for your Friday prompt… As you know (when I get impatient), I look forward to it for it always makes my Friday and many times puts me in a frame of mind that I might not have taken without your prompt. After all, we word benders simply let things fall to the page most of the time. Not sure I’d have the concentration to be a real writer…. 🙂

  2. P.S. I got the email that the notebook has shipped. Once I receive it, I will send it on to you. Not much longer now. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Aw, I absolutely love this poem! It makes me sad and a little nostalgic about the people who passed away in my family. I had a great-grandmother who was 98, died, as she died so did her memories.

    • graypoet says:

      I am glad you stopped by and that you were touched with the words. Those memories are with us when we need, whatever emotion they might bring…. I enjoyed your words and hope you’ll find others of my posts interesting.

  4. Really captured that feeling of precious days and people gone by.

  5. Ziibi says:

    The items that remind us of those loved ones gone. good write. 🙂

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you very much River, I have always enjoyed your comments and have a special spot for The River. My first online post was for one of your contest and I had to have a WordPress account to enter. So winning the contest gave me the push to keep the blog and I am thankful.

  6. Bennett says:

    I enjoyed this very much. Thank you.

  7. terry1954 says:

    very nice………..

  8. Charles … thanks for this poem. Cancer is that evil mistress that touches nearly everyone in some manner .. I just found out today a friend has been diagnosed with a particularly aggressive form of breast cancer. We all need to remember and do our part to join the fight.

    • graypoet says:

      I know how it can steal so many from us. Lost my younger sister and sis-in-law both last year. I always enjoy knowing my posts are read, if they touch and make someone think, all the better. Thank you.

  9. Mark says:

    Great memories Charles! I loved the lines > To linger over the keepsakes
    Of days that have already been. > haven’t we all done that? Thank you!

  10. Keepsakes can be precious memories of those gone from our lives. A beautiful poem, Charles!

  11. Charles, thank you for a piece that touched my heart… my mom died of pancreatic cancer just over 4 years ago. Sometimes it is those tangible things that keep our dearly departed loved ones close to us.

Leave a Reply

