Like

pianokeys

Like a pianist
Fingers hovering over each key
Like an owl
Few realize what I might see
Like music
The words play inside my head
Like a mute
Few know what words I’ve said.

Like a fireman
I feel a blaze burning within
Like one defeated
All I can do is start again
Like a detective
I may not know what I’ll find
Like a coma
It is all trapped inside my mind.

Like our elderly
Cherish life as if it were fleeting
Like two lovers
Make the most of every chance meeting
Like a dreamer
Always look to the bright side instead
Like one forgiven
Thank God for even our daily bread.

Like one homeless
I prefer to dwell on a better day
Like a child
The wonder of words and images play
Like one learning
Each day brings hope of a better time
Like a poet
I hope others find comfort in my rhyme.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Like

  1. “Each day brings hope of a better time” – indeed! There is hopefulness here and yes I find comfort in your words!

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    Wonderful poem; the words are ones that make you stop and think; We are never promised tomorrow but there is always hope; Your words always make me smile and think.

  3. Captivated from the first lines, the first verse especially … combining music, words and the animal of the night. I happened to be drafting another entry with slight similarities but decided to post the Award first – so thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

