Write The Wrong – Free Write Friday

It is Friday and Kellie has worked her usual magic and given us another prompt to stimulate our minds. Not sure why mine took this tangent, but I’ll let it run….

Check out more of Kellie’s amazing work and look for the pending release of another of her books, Jagged Little Pieces:
http://kellieelmore.com/2013/03/15/fwf-free-write-friday-writing-wrongs/

writing-the-wrongs-jagged-little-pieces

As I once again struggle to rise
I can’t help wanting to emphasis
The feeling that it’s a crime
Dealing with Daylight Savings Time.

It is almost a feeling of hate
Against those that perpetuate
This spinning of an extra hour
Leaving me now to feel so sour.

Of course it is nice to Fall Back
Get that extra hour in the sack
But when it comes to Spring Ahead
All week I have woken to this dread.

Why can’t we be like those who stopped
And this changing of hours they dropped
Leave my clock to run its assigned course
And stop making my feelings get worse.

To those nameless faces that control
Find a more worthy cause to extol
Fight abuse, disease or maybe crime
Approve a bill to stop changing my time.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Write The Wrong – Free Write Friday

  1. “Of course it is nice to Fall Back
    Get that extra hour in the sack
    But when it comes to Spring Ahead
    All week I have woken to this dread.”

    Ohhhh I feel the same way! lol! That lost hour really does put a damper on things. 😦 Quite a clever piece/response to the prompt. Thank you, Gray! Lovely rhyming as usual. ♥

    xox Kellie

  2. Gray — I am so with you … I was lucky this year and had the past week off work…so the loss has not been noticed. For some strange reason, my body worse to getting the hour back in the Fall than losing it in the Spring.

    Loved your poem as usual and needed a light hearted start to my last Friday of freedom for a long long time!

    • graypoet says:

      Last Friday of freedom for a long time sounds ominous, but with the gift that you have for letting words fall, you can be free any time you find the opportunity to let us read… The one thing they can’t take from us, no matter how life tries to stifle, is our freedom to express….

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    Great poem expresses my sentiment about Daylight Savings Time. Good job my friend

  4. heidibarnes11 says:

    I have felt every drag as I got up this past week, and cursed daylight savings time, too. Yet I have to admit I do like the extra daylight in the evening. Now if my eyes would only agree and stay up. πŸ™‚

  5. Mark says:

    Very clever and fun, but oh how you make a great point! Loved it!

  6. cshowers says:

    LOL – after so much seriousness that came with this prompt, it’s so good of you to give us a little levity. πŸ™‚ I enjoyed your post.

    Many blessings,
    Cheryl

    • graypoet says:

      You are correct, at times we need a faceless foe to vent against. I usually tend to lighten the spirit, at times however my heart won’t allow. For now, I try to encourage a smile.

Leave a Reply

