Mental Tornado – FWF photo prompt

Finally it is Friday and Kellie has left us an image to prompt our minds. Here prompt is located at:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/02/15/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-5/

Here is my contribution…

credit: Richard Baxter

credit: Richard Baxter

So many thoughts turning around
Always a whirlwind of mental jousting
What do you do when the voices inside
Keep you awake with constant shouting.

Like the howling of a Midwest twister
Littering the mindscape with images
Torn pieces of all that we’ve known
Nothing left to be seen by witnesses.

How far back into the recesses it goes
No care to preserve the buried thought
A mind twisting and turning over again
No matter the solitude being sought.

All we can do is try to weather the storm
Hope that we’re left a place to rebuild
For even with all the images and sounds
The mind will start over, if it is willed.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mental Tornado – FWF photo prompt

  1. Ya know, Gray… I feel the same way today. Maybe it’s in the water, I don’t know, but a lot going on in my head over personal matters I am struggling with. Thank you for letting me know I’m not alone and there is a bit of hope to cling to. ♥

  2. Pingback: Free Write Friday #19: Image Prompt « catnipoflife

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Well captured – as even as it rips away one’s home, their roots remain and up they shoot again. Man’s resilience and resolve.

  4. Gray — you are inside my head. This has been a week that was and today a tornado of the mind. Your poem captured my week and day to a T.

  5. I know what you mean! Sometimes it seems like a storm going on inside our minds and hearts, and we just have to hang on until it blows over. Nice write, graypoet!
    I came in late, but here’s the link to my story if you’d like to take a look at it. Has an audio version this week, too! Thanks! http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/the-story-of-rob/

  6. Mark says:

    Each new day is a chance to start again, heck each breath gives us another chance to begin. Great writing!

  7. I liked this very much! Thanks so much for sharing and for reminding us of starting new.

  8. Suzanne says:

    An interesting poem about the way the past comes back and rattles round the mind sometimes. I can relate to the feeling. Maybe let that tornado blow it all away. That’s my solution.

  9. heidi says:

    You have described anxiety wonderfully in this poem. I like the idea that thoughts can be as hazardous and unexpected as a tornado.

Leave a Reply

