Is The Way Clear – FWF photo prompt

Time for another Free Write Friday prompt from Kellie, so I’ll venture another few words to clear the mind. I encourage any that haven’t to check out Kellie’s blog, it is a treasure chest of gems:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/02/01/fwf-free-write-friday-image-prompt-4/

river

It isn’t always apparent at first glance
Which path we should take in our life
For while one might look clearer at first
How can you be sure it won’t bring strife.

As we go through our day making decisions
We are presented with all kinds of choices
We can weigh in our mind all that we see
Even listen to advice from so many voices.

But to pick a path that will lead to success
How do you choose, what signs are presented
Is the clear and sparkling to be the best
Or maybe pick the cloudy one and be contented.

Maybe it is all to be water under a bridge
Some believe that fate controls all that we do
But I trust that I can change my course
Is the way clear, that I alone will see through.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is The Way Clear – FWF photo prompt

  1. Sometimes…too often times, we choose the cloudy one and settle at the bottom of its murky floor; content. I don’t know why we give up? Maybe we fear that clarity because of things we will learn, things we might not want to see yet, about ourselves. I love this piece. It speaks. Thank you so much for writing for me. You did a wonderful job bringing a vision to this prompt. xoxox ♥

    Kellie

  2. graypoet says:

    Thank you Kellie. I do enjoy your prompts and look forward to more.

  3. Well done! I couldn’t resist the photo prompt and also participated this week. I like your take here, using the river as a metaphor for making decisions. Wonderfully written.

  4. Excellent! I agree it’s all about choices, and I also believe in never giving up! Very nice poem with a wonderful message!

  5. “But I trust that I can change my course
    Is the way clear, that I alone will see through.”

    These last two lines have such great meaning to me — I am at the crossroad in my life trying to decide if retirement should be now or in the future … still struggling, but I do know I have many choices and that makes deciding so much easier! Thanks for writing this!

    • graypoet says:

      I am glad that you enjoyed the post, always gives that little extra satisfaction when you know someone connected. I hope you find more that might touch….

Leave a Reply

