The Box – FWF prompt

As per my usual Friday offering, I am writing for the Free Write Friday prompt from Kellie. To read more, please visit her wonderful blog at:

http://kellieelmore.com/2013/01/04/fwf-free-write-friday-time-place-scenario-3/

timecapsule

Walking through the words lost in thought
Only to stumble upon a box buried there
With the signs of days long ago upon it
I studied it, finally opening with care.

I had to sit and study the memories within
For I could see the lifetime captured inside
The brittle photos, notes, even a locket
All nestled in this box, buried to hide.

Was I forsaking the sacred bonds of others
I treated the contents with deserved respect
For after only a few moments inside this trove
I knew it wasn’t here due to anyones neglect.

The shared love and memories of two hearts
I could see that there was no love they lack
But years had passed since this was buried here
So with a sigh and a smile, I buried it back.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Box – FWF prompt

  1. Very touching and real. You took me there.

  2. You know what this reminded me of? Have you ever seen that movie The Shawshank Redemption? (It’s my favorite movie ever) Well, the scene where Morgan Freeman sits down beneath the tree and opens the box and reads the letter. Your piece gave me that same feeling. That same sigh at the imagery of it. Lovely piece! Beautifully penned as usual! Thank you, Gray! xox

  3. Pat Cegan says:

    So touching and such a good use of rhyming. Applause and a satisfied smile for a well written entry. Thanks! hugs, pat

  4. Mark says:

    Great images of the respect we should have for others lives and memories. Very nicely done!

Leave a Reply

