The Street Corner – a villanelle

It took a long time to get here
Why did I picked this corner to stop
I’ll wait to see if you show up.

Life gives us so many ways to express
We follow a path at our own pace
It took a long time to get here.

At the same time we find other faces
They might give us the hope for more
I’ll wait to see if you show up.

Should we expect that they got the hint
After all not everyone feels the same
I’ll wait to see if you show up.

Maybe I wandered these streets incorrectly
Following a dream that didn’t really exist
It took a long time to get here.

All I know is I felt that there was hope
The path brought me to this street corner
It took a long time to get here
I’ll wait to see if you show up.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

