New Dawn

Well I started to put my thoughts down last night
Only to find that the backspace key was used the most
Finally the depth of the rut I was in struck me
And my daughter decided to become my nights new host.

Hours of images, of words that were said came by
I lay in the bed and thought of all I thought I knew
Realization comes hard when you are as stubborn as me
But I realized that there could still be life without you.

I don’t have to like the path that you chose to follow
Or the man who you can’t get out of your head
I can however start a new journey in my own life
And not sit and imagine you and he spending time in the bed.

So I lean on the friends that have come to my side
I put my words to better use and try to just let go
Time will tell if I will be able to take this path
But it does me not good to sit and wait, this I know.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Dawn

  1. nikky44 says:

    It might take time, but once you let go, you will find who you are looking for

  2. Anyta says:

    Probably the toughest thing is sitting on the sidelines while the one you love walks away to be with someone else . I know the feeling Charles .. what finally woke me up , is this … Do I really want to be with someone who found it so easy to walk away from me when they ran into a bump in the road ? If they can’t handle a small problem in a relationship when we are only dating , how could they possibly get through something bigger in a marriage ? I can love someone all I want , but wouldn’t want to be with someone who can’t love me just as much . I am a lover and very affectionate , but I need the same back . Someone who has walked away can’t and won’t give me that . And that just isn’t good enough for me .

    • graypoet says:

      Thank you Anyta, I know you have felt the pain and I know you are dealing with it. I agree with your thoughts, doesn’t make it easier, but time will.

  3. Oh, you touch me so deeply with your pain…..I am very glad to hear of the realization you came to and are coming back around to life, your life that waits to be lived by you. It is a terrible decay of the soul that takes place if we dwell too long on circumstances such as this that are beyond our control, you deserve so much better…..And I feel like saying to you, that remember forgiveness is not as much for the other person than it is for you….it is a letting go and a moving on, just as you are doing here, and I applaud you for that…..
    have not touched base in a VERY long time, my friend….it is good to hear from you…..
    My love and best wishes always to you….
    Celeste

  4. tornadoday says:

    We only have the power to change ourselves. We can only love and hope to be loved in return. But if we are not by one, we need not think it is EVER because we are unlovable. It just means another ‘better’ time is coming for us. Truly, Charles, you only need to ‘look up’…. ~ Love, Bobbie

  5. Phyllis Sears says:

    VERY WELL SAID MY DEAR FRIEND; BEAUTIFUL, HEARTBREAKING BUT AT THE SAME TIME HEARTWARMING BECAUSE YOU ARE TRYING SO VERY HARD TO MOVE FORWARD. YOU ARE AND ALWAYS WILL BE MY DEAREST FRIEND. HUGS ALWAYS

Leave a Reply

