Trees

Trees are such a fitting comparison to life
Now I know you are wondering how I could say
But if you think about some of our feelings
You’ll see how I’m similar to a tree in a way.

The obvious comparison to the tree is my head
While not wooden, it is almost surely as hard
I can knock on it and get the same dull sound
And so on a woodpecker lookout I’m on guard.

Another likeness I seem to have with a tree
Is that there are times when I go outside
And it seems my own limbs just catch a wind
And flailing around they go unless I hide.

Finally like the tree I seem to be rooted
I’m as stubborn as if I was set in stone
While I try to be yielding and bend a bit
My own tree-like hardness keeps me alone.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

