The Mirror

What do people see when they look at me
I know the worst critic I face is oneself
But there must be something that others see
They keep me from putting myself on a shelf.

I look in the mirror and see how I’ve aged
Those character highlights were all earned
From the paths I have taken, right or wrong
To the bridges I have crossed, some burned.

I see in the mirror hopes of what might be
Not always what I expected, but still there
Mistakes I have made and people I believed
And I see bits of gray un-pulled-out hair.

On thing about the mirror that I have learned
The reflection you see is what others see
They can’t see inside or feel what they inspire
But I know that whatever is to be, will be.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Mirror

  1. willofheart says:

    absolutely inspiring piece, love it…

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    IN THE PATH OF LIFE THAT PERSON YOU SEE IN THE MIRROR AND GOD ARE ALL ANY OF US REALLY HAVE. WE MEET SPECIAL ONES ALONG THE WAY SOME LEAVE SOME STAY. THIS IS A BEUTY FOR SURE MY FRIEND AND WE WILL LAST TILL THE END WHAT I SEE IS A VERY LOVING, CARING, WELL EDUCATED WRITER LOOKING FOR THAT SOMEONE SPECIAL ONCE MORE. I ALWAYS WISH YOU NOTHING BUT THE BEST. HUGS

  3. A beautiful look at the way we see ourselves, as our biggest critics

Leave a Reply

