Free Write Friday – The street I grew up on

As is my new Friday pastime, here is my entry for the Friday quest:

http://kellieelmore.com/2012/08/03/the-street-i-grew-up-on/

Where I Come From

Do we have a choice how we are raised
Do we know if it was right or wrong
Hopefully we get good values taught
Leaving us to sing such a fine song.

I was raised in small town America
No frills or extras but always love
No prejudice were we allowed at all
But we weren’t treated with white glove.

Hard work but always with praise too
We all chipped in and felt so close
No lock on any of our doors were needed
Others were always welcome in our house.

Nothing can I say I missed growing up
No drugs or hatred, we were offered hope
I wish these same conditions for others
Let them grow to care and to cope.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Free Write Friday – The street I grew up on

  1. It sounds like we grew up in the same neighborhood, but they were probably far apart. Beautiful poem!

  2. Jeannie says:

    a good foundation!

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    SO MUCH LIKE MY FAMILY; AND YET WE WERE ON OPPOSITE SIDES OF THE USA. I LOVE THIS POEM AND AM SO GLAD YOU KNOW HOW TO PUT INTO WORDS SOME OF MY VERY DEAREST AND DEEPEST THOUGHTS

  4. kellieelmore says:

    I’m so happy you found us this week! I remember my grandmother telling me about the days when she could rest easy with her windows open and doors unlocked. Many stories she shared about times like that and i remember her smile as if she were looking through a window into “back then”. It gave me a sense of longing to be there. Thanks for reminding me of that. ♥ and for the beautiful (as always) contribution to FWF!

  5. Living in the city, I always admire people who live in small towns who don’t have to lock their doors because there is almost no threat of theft!

Leave a Reply

