Broken Mirror

Waking up to face another day
What is it we try not to say
Can it be that we think overmuch
Is it some nerve we wish to touch?

Looking in the mirror we ponder
What is it that make us stronger
Is it possible to control our speech
Or are some things just beyond our reach?

The reflection that is presented to see
Is that really the person I want to be
Wishes and dreams and unfilled hope
At times makes it so hard to cope.

I stare at the man I see before me
Maybe it is someone who I used to be
What can I do to make things clearer
I say these words now to a broken mirror.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Mirror

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Wonderfully written as always; you don’t need to change some things. Just be yourself my friend

  2. Very poignant. Not liking everything we see in the mirror is well-expressed in your poem here.

Leave a Reply

