Sleepless Nights

Oh how I envy those that start the night
They just go to bed and fall to sleep
No tossing and turning do they endure
Restful slumber is theirs to keep.

So many nights my mind will not retire
Churning for hours over concerns of life
The desire for happiness, safety, comfort
Maybe the loving companionship of a wife.

There are times I don’t even understand
All that my mind tries to tell me
I’m restless and trying to comprehend
It is hard to make anyone else see.

So I lay my head on the pillow
I try to figure what for me is right
Already the hours pass slowly for me
As I brace for another sleepless night.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sleepless Nights

  1. Marian Green says:

    I too envy those who fall into an instant coma as soon as their head touches pillow. I wish I had a solution to offer you.

  2. nikky44 says:

    Nights are beautiful when we have a companion, the darkness carries romance and peace, but when we’re alone nights are so lonely and carry anxiety and sadness. I don’t mind a sleepless night when I’m happy, but when things are wrong, it’s the hardest thing to cope with.I’m sorry you have sleepless nights. Try at least to spend them writing your beautiful poems 🙂

  3. I am one of those that fall into instant slumber but my grandpa used to have trouble sleeping so I would keep awake with him till he was sleepy. I’m glad I did coz I got to learn alot about life through his experience. If you were here,I would keep awake with you and pick your brain. My grandpa told me its wisdom that keeps you guys awake.

  4. Phyllis Sears says:

    I too suffer from sleepless nights. I long for when I used to go right to sleep and sleep till the alarm went off. It’s been years. Sleepless nights are no fun I agree. Gusess we could share stories all night. LOL Smile things are going to get better sooner than you think Hugs

Leave a Reply

