Quiet Yearnings

What makes some people reach out for more
When there doesn’t seem to be anyone there
How do you control that unrequited desire
Do you withdraw inside or just pull your hair.

When you want that someone special to hold
However because of distance, conditions or timing
That what you believed was placed within your grasp
Seems to be always fading, hiding or slipping.

Can there be only one that we are to connect with
Is the rest just an illusion to tempt us each day
I hate to believe that we’re fated to keep looking
While love seems to find others leading them away.

For now I’ll just sit and reflect on what is given
Not dread the night or sit awaiting dawn each morning
To sleep is to dream and they can’t all be so empty
Yet it seems better wait, just to hold my quiet yearning.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quiet Yearnings

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    THIS IS SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL; I FEEL YOUR LONGING FOR THE RIGHT ONE

  2. Beautiful ! A very natural and righteous desire and need~ May you find your heartbeat soon.

  3. nikky44 says:

    I hope you can find love and happiness. I gave up on that long ago and it seems today more like an illusion ❀
    Thank you so much for the beautiful message you left on my Blog πŸ™‚

    • graypoet says:

      Never give up…. The thought is too precious. I’ve learned to try to be patient, to keep my desires in check. It will be special, or not at all.

  4. Now you’ve got me yearning mhhh… It shall happen I believe as I yearn

Leave a Reply

